DIY Friday: Ombre Dyed T-Shirts

Hello loves!!

Sometimes you wash your boyfriends shirt for him, and sometimes you accidentally dye it pink. Domestic. Goddess.

So, making the best out of a bad situation, I ran to the craft store, bought some fabric dye, and attempted to fix my washing machine mishap. And that my friends, is what we’re doing today!

First, I did some research. Google “dyeing clothes” and you come up with a plethora of sites giving advice on every method. I knew I wanted to ombre the shirt, because that’s what all the cool kids are doing.

So without further ado, here is my dyeing adventure:

1. Gather your materials:

  • Dye (I LOVE Rit liquid dye) $3.99 at Michaels Craft Store
  • accidentally dyed pink t-shirt (oops)
  • Measuring cups
  • Large bucket
  • Bowl
  • Salt
  • Gloves

IMG_4525

2. Figure out your measurements. The Rit dye bottles give instructions, but they suggest using the whole bottle of dye, which I did not want to do. So I portioned it down to about 1/8 of the bottle of dye and here are the measurements I used:

  • 1/4 cup of dye
  • 1/2 cup of salt
  • 2 cups HOT water
  • 1 gallon (16 cups) hot tap water
  • A squirt of dish soap…. a professional measurement… 🙂

3. Set up a safe area to dye your garment. I chose the garage. Lay out a towel or tarp of some sort in case of spillage.

4. Put on old clothes you dont mind ruining (just in case). Put on your protective gloves.

5. Pour the dye into a bowl. Add salt and hot water. Stir until the salt seems dissolved.

IMG_4528

6. Measure out 16 cups of hot water into a large bucket. Then add a little squirt of dish soap. Stir.

7. Pour dye mixture into the large bucket. Stir again.

8. Wet your shirt completely with tap water, and ring out excess water.

9. Place your shirt onto a hanger, rod, or other item and slowly lower into the dye mixture. This is where you have complete artistic license to have fun! I chose to dip the whole shirt in and slowly raise it from the mixture, holding the bottom of the shirt in the dye the longest. Did that make sense? I hope. Sidenote: If you don’t want your garment to have harsh ombre dye lines, then I suggest bunching it up and dyeing it haphazardly. Don’t try to be precise with this method, I think ombre looks better messy!

IMG_4535

IMG_4542

IMG_4580

10. Leave your shirt to dry completely, and ta-da! A fabulously home-dyed shirt!

IMG_4583

As another note: After you dye the shirt, wash it out with cold water before washing it with the rest of your clothes…take my advice on this one….unless you prefer everything you wash it with to turn pink…again….

Have you ever ombre dyed anything? Any tips or tricks? Let me know in the comments below!

xobrendykins

2 thoughts on “DIY Friday: Ombre Dyed T-Shirts

  1. oooh great tips!! this looks so fun!! 😀 i’ll definitely try it out. thanks for posting!
    thesartorialcoquette.com

Leave a Reply

