Makeup May: Day 4- Brush Cleaning 101

Hey hey readers!

Okay, so I have to be honest…I have no idea how often you’re supposed to clean your makeup brushes. However I do know that it’s probably more than I actually do wash them…

That being said, I have researched techniques and products to clean your brushes without spending too much $$$ in an order to be more hygienic, maybe prevent some breakouts, and maybe help some of you out there who also slack on the whole brush-washing thang!

IMG_4766

First, I gathered my brushes….mine are all pictured above!

Next, I chose two brush washing soaps that I have read about frequently and wanted to try. They include Johnson’s baby Shampoo and Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Hemp Soap. I purchased both of these at Target in the travel section!

IMG_4757

The next step is to actually clean the brushes….again I wasnt sure which route to take. I tried squirting some soap into warm water and soaking the brushes then rinsing them, however I found that this technique wasnt cleaning the brushes as well as I thought it could. So, after some trial and error, I found a technique that I think works really well:

IMG_4775

What I did was to squirt a dime size amount of the soap (either Johnson’s baby Shampoo or the Dr. Bronner’s), wet the brush, then swirl the brush in the palm of my hand until it generates a rich lather and you can see the makeup coming off. Afterwards, I rinsed off the soap with cool water and placed the brushes in brush guards (from Wal-Mart). These brush guards are great because they help the brushes keep their shape while drying!

IMG_4777

An important drying tip to remember is to not dry your brushes sitting up vertically. This is because the water and soap will drip down to the base of the bristles, causing the glue to loosen and your brushes won’t last as long! I always dry them flat on the countertop, but hanging them upside down would work too!

I tried both the Johnson’s baby Shampoo and the Dr. Bronner’s Peppermint Hemp equally, but I personally liked the Dr. Bronner’s more. I think it cleaned the brushes a little more thoroughly and left a slight minty scent!

Well that’s my brush cleaning experiment! Do you have any brush cleaning tips to share??

xobrendykins

Leave a Reply

