Brenda’s Book Club: Crazy Rich Asians

Hi all!

Let’s start a book club friends!

One thing people who know me well will tell you is that I am a total bookworm. I read daily- whether it’s a magazine, newspaper or book, my nose is always buried in the written (or typed) word. I think what I love so much is that you can escape to a whole new world- a world you choose to enter. Feeling adventurous? Dive into a thriller. Needing a little romance? There’s a whole genre for that.

I always try to have at least one book going at a time. I’m not really picky with genres, as long as I’m reading, I’m happy.

So, for my first ever book club choice I chose the national bestseller; Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan.

cra.001

This story delights in the trials and tribulations of upper-class Asian societies and what happens when an everyday girl falls in love with one of the children from the wealthiest of all the families.

As I read this book, I found myself questioning how society today regards money. In the many ways we worship it, spend it, save it, and covet it. No matter our feelings towards it, most situations boil down to money at one point or another.

Along those same lines, can we separate ourselves from it? Does our money (or lack there of) define us?

I wasn’t only posing these philosophical questions whilst reading this book however, I was also completely entertained. This novel is well-written, humorous, light-hearted, and was an absolute delight to read.

I absolutely recommend it 🙂 Have any of you read this lovely novel?

Our next book: Paper Town by John Green

-xobrendykins

 

One thought on “Brenda’s Book Club: Crazy Rich Asians

Leave a Reply

