Wintertime Lip Edit

Fall is my most favorite time of year. Well, Fall and Winter. I couldn’t choose.

I am a sucker for crunchy leaves, crisp air, snowfall, hot cocoa. I know, I know, I’m what most would call “basic.” And guess what? I am basically okay with that.

So, as all basic girls do, we darken our lip colors this time of year. Why? Well because it’s what the fashion/beauty industry tells us to do and damnnit I think I look great in a red lip.

This year, I have a set group of lippies that I throw on anytime I need a boost of confidence or want to perk up my outfit, and here they are!

IMG_0304

Starting from the left:

Soap & Glory Gloss Stick in Nudist: I love this color for how plumping and soft it looks. If you’re doing a more smokey dark eye, sometimes it’s nice to pair that with a more nude lip. This has a slight nude color but the best benefit is how wet it looks on the lip.

Rimmel Kate Moss in 107: This is my fave lipstick of all time. And a drugstore one nonetheless! Inexpensive, pigmented, and an extremely flattering color on multiple skin tones. The lasting power is extremely nice as well.

Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution in Glaston-Berry: I’ve never worn a color this dark, but I adore it. It has more purple undertones than red and is a matte finish. The Charlotte Tilbury lipsticks are such amazing quality and this color is perfect for wintertime.

TopShop Matte Lip Bullet in Get Me Bodied: I’m not sure why this is called a Matte Lip Bullet because I have found the payoff to be quite lustrous with a lot of shine. However, I’m not complaining because the finish is gorgeous! This color is the perfect wine/burgandy/red and lasts all night!

MAC Lustre Lipstick in Plumful: This is my perfect winter everyday color. It has a slight red/plum undertone, but because it is a Lustre finish it isn’t overly pigmented. When reapplied it never gets blotchy or too harsh. I adore popping this on for an everyday wash of color.

Here are the swatches:

IMG_0306

And that is what I have been coating my lips with this winter!

-xobrendykins

See what else I’ve been up to: Instagram, Twitter, Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “Wintertime Lip Edit

Leave a Reply

