Cruelty-Free Beauty

I am not perfect. I am not vegan or even vegetarian. There are still things that I need to improve upon and learn more about. However, we are all capable of making small changes that can make a large impact.

Anyone who reads this blog will know how much I love beauty products. I love makeup, body products, soaps and lotions. I also adore animals. There is nothing I want more than a puppy to love and care for. However, after having several lectures on ethics in fashion at my college this week, I began to think about the products I was buying and if perhaps they went against my ethical beliefs.

That perhaps, maybe, through a little research I could change my shopping habits and become a little happier with the products I use, knowing that no physical being was harmed in the formation of them.

Disclaimer: I am not claiming that this is the only way, or the right way. This is simply what I think is best for me and my beliefs. Please do research for your own benefit, to make you feel good about what you purchase and support.

CrueltyFreeBeauty

So I did a little bit of research. I found an amazing resource on the PETA website that lists brands who test and don’t test on animals as well as brands who are Vegan- which I thought was only a form of dietary restriction.

And I know I know, all websites like this can be biased or whatever. But hey, I’m just trying to be a little bit more conscious as a consumer.

But luckily there are tons of great brands that are listed as being animal-friendly and cruelty-free! YAY!

Some of my fave brands that PETA lists as being cruelty-free include:

  • it Cosmetics
  • NYX
  • e.l.f. Cosmetics
  • Too Faced Cosmetics
  • The Body Shop
  • LUSH

and soooooo many more!

If you’re curious if any of your products are tested, check out the resource I was using here! And, I encourage you all to look a bit more into how your favorite products are made, tested and distributed, because if we all do our part, we can change the industry!

Let me know if you know of any more cruelty-free products!

-xobrendykins

Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “Cruelty-Free Beauty

  1. Awesome blog!! And good for you! I started the same way. I used the Peta site because it’s so easy to use. I started following some CF bloggers and YouTubers and it’s just gotten easier and easier. I agree that we all have to find our own way and make the choices we feel comfortable with, but I also think this is one the easiest ways to make a real difference. Not trying to plug my blog but if you’re interested, I do have a short tip blog about going CF. It might offer you some new resources or save you some time. 🙂

  2. Congrats on going cruelty free! I recently made the decision myself. It is a bit challenging and a bit constricting, but I feel that it is worth it. I agree that we all need to make decisions we feel comfortable with.

  3. So happy to see another beauty lover go cruelty free 🙂
    There are tons more companies such as wet n wild, nars, lily lolo and others that have great quality. Like the comment above – try to follow some cruelty free bloggers to get an idea. Logical Harmony for example has a list that updates weekly.
    Good luck!

      1. Yes they’re safe don’t worry 🙂
        the lists can be somewhat confusing but you’ll learn over time. I like the leaping bunny app for my phone btw

Leave a Reply

