Spring/Summer 2016 Lip Trend: True Red

I was sitting around this week thinking, what lip color should I wear today?

I know, I know. Big life decisions.

Is the Kylie nude still in? Are the winter mauves out? I JUST DONT KNOW!

Thank goodness for Google. After some searching, some runway reviewing and some Sephora stalking, I have determined that this spring and summer I will be rocking the candy-apply reds.

RedLips.001

 

IMG_1893 IMG_1883

My picks for the season include:

Rimmel Kate Moss in 01– This red is the most true red I own. With a drugstore price, you can’t go wrong.

Sephora Cream Lip Stain in 01– Everyone talks about this gem, and its so worth it! This product does not come off the lips. I mean, you can eat a burger and it won’t budge.

MAC Matte Lipstick in Russian Red– With a super matte finish, this red is more blue-toned than orange but is still stunning.

Milani Amore Matte Lip Creme in 06 Desire– I love me a good liquid lipstick. This one is my second favorite compared to the Sephora one above, but this color is a bit thicker. The wand is slightly larger and more difficult to apply, however colorless its incredible.

Maybelline Matte Lipstick in 690 Siren in Scarlet– Another perfect red, this color is slightly matte, but overall more of a cream finish. It won’t stay on the lips as long as some of the others, but it will look gorgeous while its on!

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Crayon in Cruella– I just love NARS. This lip pencil has incredible color payoff, pigmentation and application.

Clinique Chubby Stick Intense in 03 Mightiest Maraschino– Another great bright red, this lip crayon has incredible pigmentation and a glossy finish.

IMG_1887

And those are my favorite reds this season- do you have any reds you swear by?

-xobrendykins

Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “Spring/Summer 2016 Lip Trend: True Red

  1. I love that Red is the trend. I am not one to be bold, but as of late I have really been enjoying a red lip. My favorite is the elf lip stain in Red carpet. Its more of a liquid lipstick but its not transfer proof. Best part…it’s $3

  2. It amuses me that red lipstick is “back” in a big way. It never totally went away, but you never saw it on anyone. When I was growing up, there was only red lipstick to choose from, as in red and redder or purplish red. It was hard to find even an pink Then all of a sudden in the 60’s along came brown lipstick and then pale pinks with a lot of white in them and finally a lot of nude shades. For awhile even, it was rare to see a young person with any lipstick on al all. By then I was wearing lighter reds and corals.

Leave a Reply

