Why Traveling is So Important

Few things grow an individuals soul more than travel.

Personally, I have never felt more fulfilled and enriched than when I’m wandering a foreign place completely new to me. Tasting new foods and meeting new people, getting lost while looking at shop windows, it’s all part of the beauty that is found in travel.

IMG_0471

I wonder why that is? Maybe it’s because we’re challenging ourselves. We are forcing ourselves into an environment into which we aren’t normally comfortable. Where we are forced to ask for help when we need it, and do things a bit differently. Last fall, I moved to a new continent for school. I packed my life into only two suitcases, boarded a flight and left what I knew behind. I was terrified, excited, nervous, and about 59837 other emotions all at once.

But damn it felt good.

IMG_0464

When I made it to my new London neighborhood, I hopped off the tube (actually more of rolled out since I was carrying two large suitcases plus a backpack and duffel….oops did I say only two bags?) and immediately panicked. I had no idea which way my apartment was. I had no working cell phone. It was London rush hour and people were walking every direction, and fast. I was completely out of my comfort zone. I had to think critically and figure out how to find where I lived. I’ve never lived in a city, so I had no idea how to go about this.

But, I survived.

And putting yourself into new situations is what travel is about.

IMG_0469

You meet so many incredible people as well. The friends I’ve made while traveling are now lifelong sisters I’ll cherish forever. We experienced life together; we took late night Uber rides, tried crazy foods, learned about new cultures and took in the city. We experienced the good and the bad of a new place.

IMG_0461

So I encourage everyone to travel. Whether it be across the globe, or to one town over; nothing will enrich you more than travel. Be prepared to form new views on political matters, change your social-issue standing, learn to dress differently and like new foods. Travel will change you, but only for the better.

Outfit
Hat: Zara
Jacket: Macy’s
Top: Primark
Skirt: Primark
Tights: Primark
Shoes: Primark

Where is your favorite place to travel?

-xobrendykins

Instagram, Bloglovin‘, Twitter, Facebook

3 thoughts on “Why Traveling is So Important

Leave a comment